ECP publishes final delimitation of constituencies

The commission had published a preliminary list of constituencies of national and provincial assemblies on 5th of March this year demarcated in the wake of census 2017.

ECP officials said it received 1286 objections during thirty days till 3rd of the last month, out of which 689 objections were received from Punjab, 284 from Sindh, 181  from KP, 104 from Balochistan, 17 from Islamabad while 11 objections from FATA.

Chief Election Commissioner Muhammad Raza Khan constituted several benches, which conducted daily hearing of the objections from April 04. After the completion of hearing on May 02, the final delimitation of constituencies was finalized.

The Commission said that the general public and political parties can visit the commission’s website to see the list.

Under the relevant election laws, the ECP has to publish the final delimitation of constituencies within 30 days starting from the last date of submission of objections.

According to the final delimitation 2018, there will be 272 constituencies of the National Assembly while there will be 297 constituencies for Punjab Assembly, 130 for Sindh Assembly, 99 for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and 51 for Balochistan Assembly.

Recommended for you

Leave a Reply


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here