Mohammad Amir returns to Pakistan squad after 5-year ban

LAHORE: Left arm fast bowler Mohammad Amir, who was banned for five years from International cricket in spot-fixing case, has returned to the national squad announced for upcoming New Zealand tour.

Mohammad Amir has been included in One-Day International and Twenty20 squads.

Chief selector Haroon Rasheed announced that Mohammad Amir, Ahmed Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Emad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Amir Yamin, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Mohammad Rizwan, and Saad Nasim will be part of the T20 team.

The ODI squad comprises Ahmed Shahzad, Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Sohaib Maqsood, Zafar Gohar, Emad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Rizwan, and Mohammad Amir.

Rasheed said that Amir’s case has been forwarded to the New Zealand consulate and that his visa process will begin after the New Year’s holidays.

Amir, 23, resumed his career in March playing grade two cricket in Pakistan, after the ICC allowed his early return to cricket. He moved onto grade one and caught further attention in the Bangladesh Premier League where he picked up 14 wickets in nine matches at an average of 12.64.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button