India divides Jammu and Kashmir into two federally administered territories

India: India has formally divided Jammu and Kashmir into two new federally administered territories. The constitutional changes announced on August 5 takes a formal shape today.

To tighten the grip, India has broken up occupied Jammu and Kashmir into two federally administered territories.

Under the new arrangement the new two territories will be

  1. Jammu and Kashmir
  2. Ladakh

These new two territories will be ruled from New Delhi. These territories will be administered by two lieutenant governors Girish Chandra Murmu and Radha Krishna Mathur respectively. They will report directly to the Indian Home Secretary in New Delhi.

Jammu and Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir will have two divisions

  • Kashmir Valley
  • Jammu

The area of over 42,000 square kilometers has a population of over 12.26 million. It comprises of Muslim majority of 8.44 million (68.8%).

Both the territories will have its own elected assembly with 5 year term. However, most powers will rest with New Delhi. This region will no longer have its own flag or constitution.


Ladakh, the cold desert bordering China covers 59,000 square kilometer with population of 274,289. Ladakh has two districts Kargil and Leh.

Out of this total population 127,296 are Muslims (46.4%) and 108,761 are Buddhists (39.65%)

Ladakh will be under the federal government’s direct administration.

Mehbooba Mufti recently tweeted

While Kashmiris mourn massacre of J&K, the same development is a source of sadistic pleasure to rest of India. The emotional gulf that exists between you & us couldn’t be any wider. You violated our consent & rights but will never control how we feel. Long live Kashmir inshallah

READ MORE: UN High Commissioner for Human Rights on Kashmir Lockdown

READ MORE: We Stand By Kashmiris DG ISPR Press Conference

Follow INCPAK on Facebook / Twitter Instagram  for updates.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button