Sadiq Sanjrani sworn in as Senate chairman

Independent candidate from Balochistan, backed by joint opposition Sadiq Sanjrani has won Senate election for chairmanship with as many as 57 votes against 46 of ruling party’s candidate on Monday.

Raja Zafarul Haq of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Sadiq Sanjrani, a joint candidate of opposition parties contested for Senate chairmanship with the latter, backed by Pakistan People s Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), recording a convincing victory with 57 votes against former s 46.

For deputy chairman, the freshly elected chairman will make an appointment out of two candidates namely Usman Kakar of Pakhtukhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) and Salim Mandviwalla of Pakistan People’s Party (PPP).

Voting for Deputy Chairmanship is underway.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button