PSL 2020 – Brendan Taylor & Joe Denly join Multan Sultans

Table topper team of PSL 2020 Multan Sultans experiences a change in final squad, right before the tournament. At present, England’s Joe Denly and Zimbabwe’s Brendan Tayler will replace former squad members Mahmudullah and James Vince for the playoffs, scheduled to recommence from November 14th.

PSL 2020, Brendan Taylor, Joe Denly
PSL 2020 – Multan Sultans rope in Brendan Taylor and Joe Denly

The declaration about replacement was set forth by Pakistan Cricket Board [PCB] on 10th November. Bangladesh spinner Mahmudullah and England Batsman James Vince had tested positive for global pandemic COVID-19 in their pre-departure tests, conducted in their respective countries. As a result, they were immediately prohibited to join the remaining matches of PSL 2020.

“Joe Denly and Brendan Tayler will be replacing Mahmudullah and James Vince in the Multan Sultans squad for the HBL Pakistan Super League 2020 playoffs” stated PCB in a statement.

Furthermore, the cricket council also informed that an anonymous player staying in the team hotel room has also contracted the virus and had been isolated and therefore, will not be allowed to join the playoffs. The identity of the individual is still a secret.

“An individual has been shifted to an isolation room within the team hotel after his covid-19 test returned positive. As per the PCB Covid-19 protocols, he should have travelled to Karachi only after receiving a negative result from Home test. However, upon arrival in Karachi, the PCB Medical and Sports Science received positive results, following which he was quarantined immediately.” – Stated PCB spokesperson.

All the local and international participants of PSL 5 are being given strict COVID-19 protocols, ensuring safety at all costs. Hence, any member that contracts the virus will immediately be removed from the series. Similarly, the overseas players arriving in Pakistan for the playoffs of PSL 2020 are also being tested repeatedly.

Denly and Taylor joins Multan Sultans in PSL 2020

Multan Sultans’ official also talked about the replacement of team members, confirming the PCB’s statement. “Yes, we have brought in Denly and Taylor. Denly is expected to arrive today (Wednesday). Taylor will leave his team for Karachi tomorrow.”

It is pertinent to mention that Zimbabwe’s Brendan Taylor is not a new name to PSL universe and has been part of tournament in season 2018-19. The batsman had served the Lahore Qalandar squad then. Currently, the cricketer was in Pakistan, on account of Zimbabwe’s limited overs tours. Hence, was offered a position in place of Multan Sultans member that he accepted whole heartedly.

Likewise, Joe Denly had also played 12 matches across two editions for Karachi Kings. Recently, the player was available after being left out of England’s white ball squad against South Africa. However, Denly is yet to arrive in the country.

Subsequent to the fluctuations, the newest PSL 5 squad of leading team Multan Sultans includes,

PSL 2020, Brendan Taylor, Joe Denly

Local Players: Ali Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Junaid Khan, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Irfan, Rohail Nazir, Shaan Masood, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Zeeshan Ashraf.

Foreign Players: Adam Lyth [England], Imran Tahir [South Africa], Ravi Bopara [England], Rilee Rossouw [South Africa], Joe Denly [England], Brendan Taylor [Zimbabwe].

Hence, the PSL 2020, which was halted in February owing to the global pandemic, will resume from the approaching weekend. Multan Sultans will come head to head with Karachi Kings on November 14th. The winner between the two will secure place in Grand Finale, whereas the loser will compete with either Lahore Qalandars or Peshawar Zalmi in the second qualifier.

Read More: PSL 2020 playoffs – foreign players arrive in Karachi

About PSL

Pakistan Super League [PSL] is a local Twenty20 cricket tournament, hosted by Pakistan every year during February and March. The league was initiated in 2015 with 5 teams, followed with the addition of sixth squad Multan Sultans in subsequent years.

PSL 2020, Brendan Taylor, Joe Denly

Teams in PSL are named after big cities of Pakistan and are owned and controlled by investors. The six lineups of PSL are

  • Karachi Kings
  • Multan Sultans
  • Quetta Gladiators
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Islamabad united
  • Lahore Qalandars.  

The winner team of every season is awarded with a sparkling Golden Trophy, along with a price of US dollars 500K.

Moreover, not only the homeland green shirts, a huge troop of foreign players also participate in the tournament by divided in six different franchises.

Read More: Every success of this region is dedicated to our martyrs: IG FC

Follow INCPAK on Facebook / Twitter Instagram  for update.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button