Justice Dost Muhammad Khan named Caretaker CM of KP

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has nominated Justice (retd) Dost Muhammad Khan as the Caretaker Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP).

Justice Dost Muhammad khan will take oath as the Caretaker CM in Peshawar today.

After a parliamentary committee’s failure in finalising a consensus name for the post of the caretaker chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the Speaker of the now-dissolved KP Assembly had forwarded four names, two each from the outgoing government and the opposition, to the commission to pick one person for the office of caretaker chief minister.

The opposition had given the name of Justice (retd) Dost Mohammad Khan and businessman Manzoor Afridi for the position of caretaker CM. While the government floated the names of former bureaucrats – Himayatullah Khan and Ejaz Ahmed Qureshi.

A committee of the ECP headed by Chief Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Sardar Muhammad Raza had decide about the caretaker chief minister within two days.

The ECP committee decided to nominate Justice Dost Muhammad Khan as the Caretaker Chief Minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Justice Dost Muhammad Khan was retired as the judge of the Supreme Court of Pakistan on March 20, 2018. He remained the Chief Justice of Peshawar High Court from 17 November 2011 to 31 January 2014. He was elevated to the Supreme Court on 1st February 2014.

Justice Dost Muhammad was among the judges who had refused to take oath under the Provisional Constitutional Order (PCO) 3 November 2007, during the military rule of Gen (retd) Pervez Musharraf.

Earlier, a meeting of the parliamentary committee comprised of the opposition and government members held at the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa House in Islamabad, failed to agree on the matter.

The meeting was attended by the PTI’s Shah Farman and Mehmmod Khan and opposition’s Malik Noor Saleem Khan and Mehmood Betani.

Under Article 224-A of the Constitution, the chief minister and opposition leader have to finalise a name for caretaker chief executive within three days of the dissolution of the provincial assembly and if they do not agree on a name, the matter referred to the parliamentary committee of the assembly. If the committee fails to reach a consensus in this regard, the matter is forwarded to the ECP for a final decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button