Shehbaz Sharif elected PML-N interim president

The CWC also elected Shehbaz Sharif as the interim president after he was nominated by Nawaz Sharif.

The Central Working Committee of the ruling Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) has decided to elect Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif as party’s acting president.

The key meeting was attended by former party president Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Maryam Nawaz, Hamza Shehbaz and other senior members of the party.

Nawaz Sharif picked Shehbaz Sharif as acting president of the party.

Starting his political career as president of Lahore Chamber of Commerce in 1985, Shehbaz was first elected as the member of the provincial assembly in 1988.

In 1990, he was elected as a member of the National Assembly and then again as a provincial assembly member in 1993.

Shehbaz first became the chief minister of Punjab after being elected as an MPA in 1997.

He was first elected as the PML-N president during exile in 2002, due to the registration of cases against Nawaz. In 2006, he was again elected as the party president.

The younger Sharif became the chief minister of Punjab for the second time, after being elected to the Punjab Assembly in a by-election in 2008.

Shehbaz took over the office of the Punjab CM for the third time following his party’s victory in 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button