WhatsApp is rolling out enhanced privacy controls for Profile Photo, About, Status and Last Seen settings by allowing users to hide from specific contacts. Until Now, you could only block those settings for Everyone, My Contacts or Nobody, but the new update allows people to select “My Contacts Except” option and hide from specific people.
The ‘Last Seen’ status in WhatsApp indicates when someone last checked the app and provides a way to find out if a contact is avoiding you. However, the new feature allows you to completely shut off the ‘Last Seen’ option for certain WhatsApp users, while also blocking Profile Photo, About, and Status for these individuals.
🔒 To further protect your privacy online, we’re rolling out new options to your privacy control settings 🔒— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) June 15, 2022
Now you can select who from your contact list can see your Profile Photo, About, and Last Seen status. For more information follow this link: https://t.co/UGMCx2n70h
It is pertinent to mention that if you restrict your Last Seen WhatsApp status to certain people, you won’t be able to wee their Last Seen status as well. The new settings are available via the three-dot menu in the upper corner, then navigating to Account > Privacy.
WhatsApp is constantly working on adding new features to the encrypted messenger. According to reports, WhatsApp is also working on a new feature that will allow admins to manage group joining requests by using a feature called, Group Membership Approval.