Senate Elections Results 2018

ISLAMABAD: PML-N and PPPP won the maximum number of seats in the Senate’s elections held on Saturday whereas MQM-Pakistan faced the major setback secured only 1 seat.

Although MQM-P chief Farooq Sattar right before Senate elections called a press conference with disputed MQM-Bahadurabad Chief which made no difference on Saturday as MQM-Pakistan has been wiped from Karachi’s politics end of political drama !

Polling for 52 vacant seats was held in the National Assembly and four provincial assemblies.

According to the results received from Islamabad and four provinces, PML-N has become the majority party in the Upper House of the Parliament followed by PPP. PTI is now the third largest party in the Senate.

Senate Elections Results 2018 Result 

Sadiq Sanjrani sworn in as Senate chairman


Unofficial results show that PML-N has won as many as 15 Senate seats from Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Islamabad.


PPP has won 12 seats from Sindh and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa respectively.


Imran Khan’s Tehreek-e-Insaf has has won six seats – five Senate seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and one from Punjab.


The JUI-F has managed one seat each in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan.


The Jamaat-e-Islami has managed to elect one Senator from Khyber Pakhtunhwa


Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan must be disappointing with the results as the party has only got one seat in Sindh.


Pakistan Muslim League-Function won one Seat seat from Sindh.


In FATA, four independent candidates emerged as victorious by securing seven votes each.

National Party

The National Party got two candidates elected in the Senate from Balochistan Assembly.


Pakhtukhwa Milli Awami Party of Mahmood Khan Achakzai bagged two Senate seats from Balochistan Assembly.


Six seats were won by independent candidates in Balochistan Assembly.

FATA – There were 24 candidates in the run for four FATA seats.

Four independent candidates have won four Senate seats by securing seven votes each.

According to unofficial results, Senator designate Hidayatullah, Hilal-ur-Rehman, Shamim Muhammad Afridi and Mirza Muhammad Afridi would represent FATA in Senate for next six years term.


According to unofficial and provisional results, PML (N) supported candidates have won both the Senate seats from the Federal Capital Territory.

Former Minister for Information and Broadcasting Mushahid Hussain Syed and son of former Prime Minister Muhammad Khan Junejo, Asad Ali Khan Junejo have been elected as Senators for Islamabad.

According to unofficial results, the candidates backed by Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) won the elections with clear majority on one technocrat and one general seat.

According to details, Mushahid Hussain Syed secured 223 votes on technocrat seat while PPPP Candidate Raja Shakil Abbasi remained runner up by securing 64 votes.

Thirteen votes were rejected by the officials.

Asad Ali Khan Junejo was declared successful on general seat of Islamabad by securing 214 votes.

Raja Imran Ashraf of PPP got only 45 votes while Kanwal Shozef who got 32 votes. Nine votes were termed rejected on this contest.

As many as 300 MNAs cast their votes on one each seat of General and technocrat from Islamabad.


Independent candidates backed by PML-N won 11 out of 12 senate seats in Punjab Assembly. Seven candidates contested for general seats, one for minority , two for technocrat and two for women seats.

Out of seven senate general seats in Punjab, independent candidates backed by PML-N won six general seats, whereas PTI
candidate Chaudhry Sarwar won one seat.

According to official results, PML-N backed candidates Dr Asif Kirmani secured 42 votes, Dr Musadik Malik 42 votes,
Rana Maqbool 43 votes, Zubair Gul 38 votes, Haroon Akhtar 42 votes and Shaheen Khalid Butt 41 votes, whereas PTI candidate Chaudhary Muhammad Sarwar got 44 votes.

Kamran Michael, an Independent candidate backed by PML-N, was elected on the minority seat by securing 321 votes.

While former finance minister Ishaq Dar and Hafiz Abdul Karim were elected on technocrat seats by securing 155 votes and 160 votes, respectively.

PML-N backed independent candidates Saadia Abbasi and Nuzhat Sadiq were also elected on two women Senate seats by securing 160 votes and 152 votes, respectively.


Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) won 10 out of  total 12 Senate seats in Sindh Assembly and emerged as the leading party in the province.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan and Pakistan Muslim League-F won seat each. Out of total 166 eligible votes, 161 votes were polled. Five MPAs could not participate because of being out of country.

The total strength of Sindh Assembly is 168 members. Two MPAs from PPP had died recently.

ECP’s Provincial Commissioner M.Yousuf Khattak informed the media that of 161 polled votes, 25 were rejected in different categories.

He said the winners on seven general seats of the Senate includedPPP’s Moula Bakhsh Chandio, Imamuddin Shauqeen, Raza Rabbani, Mustafa Nawaz Khokhar, Muhammad Ali Jamote, Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah from PML-F and Firogh Naseem Advocate from MQM-P. On the two technocrats seats, PPP’s Dr. Sikandar Ali Mandhro and Rukhsana Zuberi were declared successful.

PPP’s Qurat-ul-Ain and Kesu Bai (Kirshna Kolhi) bagged two seats for women while Anwar Laluddin of PPP succeeded on the minority seat.

He said ECP would share detailed results with the Media on Sunday.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Five out of eleven Senate seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly were won by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), while Pakistan Peoples Party(PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League backed independent candidates won two seats each and Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUIF) and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) also got one seat each.

According to unofficial results, out of the seven general seats PTI obtained three while PML-N backed independent candidate, PPP, JUI-F and JI clinched one each.

The wining candidates on General seats included Pir Sabir Shah (Independent/PML-N) Faisal Javed (PTI), Talha Mahmood (JUI-F), Bahramand Khan Tangi (PPP), Mohammad Ayub (PTI), Fida Mohammad (PTI) and Mushtaq Ahmad Khan (JI).

Dr. Meher Taj Roghani of PTI and Robina Khalid of PPP were elected on women seats.

Azam Sawati of PTI and Dilawar Khan PML-N backed independent candidate were elected on the Technocrats seats.


Eleven new senators including, six independent candidates were elected in Balochistan Assembly on Saturday, according to unofficial results.

The wining candidates are Anwar ul Haq Kakar (independent supported by PML-N), Ahmed Khan (independent), Kuda Babar (independent), Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani (independent), Sardar Muhammad Shafiq Tareen (Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party), Muhammad Akram ( National Party) and Molvi Faiz Muhammad (JUI-F) were elected on general seats.

While Muhammad Tahir Bizenjo (National Party) and Naseeb Ullah Bazai (independent supported by PML-N) were elected on Technocrats seats.

Abida Umar (Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party) and Sana Jamali (independent) won the elections on women reserved seats.

Leave a Reply


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here