PSL 2020: Darren Sammy & Mitchell McClenaghan Out

PSL 2020 remaining matches are just around the corner and before the tournament hits the final ground, another two foreign players have been ruled out, owing to some logistical constraints. Among the players substituted for the playoff matches is heart of Pakistanis and backbone of Peshawar Zalmi Darren Sammy, alongside Karachi King’s medium-fast bowler Mitchell McClenaghan. Hence, the duo will not be part of the final three matches, recommencing from November 14th.

PSL 2020, Darren Sammy, Wayne Parnell, Sohaib Maqsood, Mitchell McClenaghan
PSL 2020 remaining matches- Sammy and McClenaghan out

Darren Sammy Replaced by Sohaib Maqsood

The declaration was put forward by PCB. An official confirmed that both the players [Darren Sammy and McCleneghan] will not be coming to Pakistan for the PSL 2020 remaining matches, even though all the arrangements had been finalized.

Hence, Peshawar Zalmi’s player coach Darren Sammy has been replaced with hard-hitter batsman Sohaib Maqsood.

PSL 2020, Darren Sammy, Wayne Parnell, Sohaib Maqsood, Mitchell McClenaghan

The decision came forward as Sammy was unable to arrive in Pakistan in time for the first eliminator. It was also revealed that he was earlier booked to travel via UK but due to latest travel restrictions, he could not find an appropriate flight back home. An attempt was also made for him to travel via US, but that was also fruitless. 

West Indies former captain Darren Sammy has been a star player throughout the PSL series. With his down to earth persona and pure affection towards Pakistan, the batsman garnered critical adoration as he now possesses a prestigious position in PSL universe.

Mitchell McClenaghan Replaced By Wayne Parnell

Furthermore, not only the Zalmi’s, the blue forces Karachi Kings also had a squad replacement in store, ahead of the PSL 2020 remaining matches. South African fast bowler Wayne Parnell has been included in the Kings franchise for the playoffs. The left-arm spinner switches New Zealand’s Mitchell McCleneghan, who was inaccessible due to isolation restrictions in New Zealand, enforced by Covid-19. 

PSL 2020, Darren Sammy, Wayne Parnell, Sohaib Maqsood, Mitchell McClenaghan

Read More: PCB announces Pakistan squad for New Zealand tour

PSL 2020 remaining matches

Homegrown T20 cricket tournament, Pakistan Super League [PSL] that takes place every year during February and March, faced an unexpected halt this year, owing to spikes in global pandemic cases. Consequently, all the overseas players had left for their native countries, and the series was left hanging in the air without the declared champions.

However, previous month, Pakistan Cricket Board [PCB] dropped a bombshell on PSL devotees, as it announced to resurrect the battle from where it was frozen. 14th November was decided to be an opener of the PSL 2020 remaining matches, followed with grand finale on 17th November. Since then, the Pakistanis have been full of beans, as they count days for the scheduled epoch.

PSL 2020, Darren Sammy, Wayne Parnell, Sohaib Maqsood, Mitchell McClenaghan

Nevertheless, with PSL 2020 remaining matches approaching, the qualifier franchises have been experiencing one after another replacement in selected squads, due to no-availability of foreign players. Previously, Multan Sultans lost its gem players James Vince and Mahmudullah, by reason of positive Covid-19 tests. The players were swapped with Brendan Taylor and Joe Denly.

Read More: PSL 2020 – Brendan Taylor & Joe Denly join Multan Sultans

Follow INCPAK on Facebook / Twitter Instagram  for update.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button